2017 Valuing Volunteer Awards

Volunteers are the heart of our organization. Their contributions enrich lives and make it possible to offer programs and services that otherwise would not exist. Please join us in honoring our volunteers! 

This year, the Peoria YMCA recognized the many volunteers who devote their time and energy at the Y, as well as throughout the community. This year’s awards were at the Peoria YMCA’s Awards Reception & Annual Meeting on Saturday, May 27, 2017.

Walter Brodbeck Annual Award

This annual award is given in honor and memory of Walter Brodbeck, a long-time member of the Greater Peoria Family YMCA. Mr. Brodbeck was a dedicated volunteer, encouraging participation in the YMCA and commitment to the community. This award goes to a Peoria YMCA member, who provides service on a volunteer basis to the Y, in the spirit of Mr. Broadbeck.

Lisa Koenig has given over 15 years of service to the YMCA, serving as Chairman on the Board, Chairman of the Finance Committee, and the hundreds of hours she has graciously given. She acts as a mentor, fundraiser, volunteer and donor to the Y. Her volunteer service has demonstrated that she holds the YMCA values of caring, honesty, respect and responsibility close to her heart.


This annual award is to the person or persons who show exemplary service to the Peoria YMCA through the giving of their time and talents (they do not have to be a Peoria YMCA member). Their service enhances the Greater Peoria Family YMCA and helps foster the Y’s mission and focus. They demonstrate exceptional commitment, service, creativity, cooperation or leadership and serve as a role model for others.


Wesley McCloud, Tim Wilson, Jerron Hobson, Tony Ware and Adell Hawks, accepted the award for Outstanding Volunteers of the Year on behalf of the Midwest Hawks Football Team. They were chosen because of their commitment over the last 6 years to the Y’s flag football league. This group have taught skills beyond football. Through their great attitudes, the Y kids learned leadership, teamwork and sportsmanship. They have been youth mentors and upheld the values of the YMCA in every interaction with Y youth.


Youth Leadership Award

This annual award is to the person or persons under the age of 18, who enhance the programs and activities of the Greater Peoria Family YMCA through their exceptional leadership, commitment and service. They help foster the Y’s mission and areas of focus. They serve as a role model for others.

 Jordan Ingram was selected because of his demonstrated willingness to help others within our Teen Reach program. He has been outspoken in seeking out opportunities to help others. He has given of his time to help build the Y’s parade float, was a Santa’s elf for our Breakfast with Santa program, in addition to participating in school and church projects. His modelling of service has earned him this award and it is our hope that his peers will see his willingness as something to emulate. This year’s award winner shows the amazing attributes of sincerity, honesty and growth in his role of demonstrating leadership.

Website and Design: Indesign Web