Valuing Peoria’s Volunteers

Peoria YMCA member Carole Ackerman

To Peoria YMCA member Carole Ackerman, instilling in her children and grandchildren the importance of volunteering is of utmost importance. Her family often recite 1 Thessalonians 5:11: “Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.”

It is no wonder that last week Carole was the winner of the Women to Women Community Service Award, hosted by the Women’s Fund of Central Illinois.

“I believe that in giving my time, it benefits others as well as yourself,” says Carole. “As a child I saw my parents giving back to their community and at the age of 5 years old I had my chance to help a neighbor. I remember feeling as good as them by helping. I carried on volunteering my time into college and adulthood. I have chaired seven boards, in addition to volunteering at many organizations.”

“Find something meaningful to you,” says Carole. “Not all opportunities will be right for you, but find the one that you feel passionate about. Peoria is an impressive community and all of the volunteers and organizations are what make it a better place to live.”

Carole Ackerman is not the only award-worthy volunteer at the Peoria YMCA. On May 27th, the Y had the opportunity to thank volunteers at the annual Awards Reception & Annual Meeting. Those award winners included Lisa Koenig with the Walter Brodbeck Award, the Midwest Hawks Football Team with the Volunteer of the Year Award, and Jordan Ingram with the Youth Leadership Award. These amazing volunteers are the heart of the YMCA. Their contributions enrich lives and make it possible to offer programs and services that otherwise would not exist.

The Peoria YMCA is always looking for volunteers to give of their time and talent. If you would like to explore ways of giving back to your community, the YMCA is here to help. Find volunteer opportunities on our website or contact the Y for additional information.

Lisa Koenig and Y Chairman-elect Jim Chamberlain

Midwest Hawks Football Team and Y Chairman-elect Jim Chamberlain

Jordan Ingram and Y Chairman-elect Jim Chamberlain

Website and Design: Indesign Web